One Month Until China

Court Robe, late 19th Century, China. via non-westernhistoricalfashion.tumblr.com.

I am so close I can almost taste it. I am enchanted with Mandarin Chinese, Chinese folk history and song, but I still feel as if I know nothing about the country’s pop culture–I still can’t help but think of the damning word foreign when I imagine China.

In explanation: I am spending four months in Beijing, my first travel destination outside of the Americas and Europe… and my first destination where I will not be able to read the signs or barter with locals (not yet, anyway). I will participate in an intensive 3-week language training before I start my 3 class civilization sequence (in English), and I will live on the Renmin University campus with a Chinese roommate.

Rice terraces, Guangxi

To ensure that I get the most out of my experience, I have a list of personal goals to meet:
1. Engage myself with the art of Beijing and its residents.
2. Learn as much Chinese as possible–focus on your bartering tactics!
3. Take pictures every day. Even if it’s just one.
4. Update your blog daily (hi!).
5. Don’t waste time napping–get out there and live!
6. Be the 20-year-old female version of Andrew Zimmern. Eat a bug, a snake, whatever–as long as it’s edible and not poisonous, it’ll be a good story.

and the slightly less sensational:

7. Remember to go to the gym. 3 months without running is physically painful.

5 comments
  1. The modern art museum in Beijing is awesome.

    • I’ll have to go… I admit I don’t know much about Bejing other than rudimentary overviews of the main attractions there now, but hopefully that will change when I arrive.

  2. Sarah said:

    Hey there! Thanks for stopping by my blog…I’m so glad to have found yours! I studied Mandarin for a year at university and loved it so, so much, and can’t wait to hear about your time in Beijing! 太酷了!

    • Thanks! I hope the language comes to me quickly… it seems pretty difficult so far (well, duh). I just hope I have the ability to barter within a few weeks of being there.

  3. eb3627a said:

    This looks awesome, and good luck with number 6!

Leave a Reply

