What I Read 1/18

Articles: 
The Shadow of Anti-Semitism in France: After the Charlie Hebdo attack, there have been a lot of think-pieces analyzing both France and Germany’s often-xenophobic leanings at large. Although right now the focus is on the muslim minority, I think it’s pretty telling that 74% of French Jews have considered leaving their home and/or adopted country–it’s not easy to exist on the imposed “outskirts” of French society.
A History of the Color Pink:  Growing up with the concept of Girls=pink, Boys=blue etched viscerally into my childhood memories, learning this offers me relief. As I get older (and as one might be able to tell, more staunchly feminist), I’m happy to let go of many of the ideas I once held that adhere strictly to America’s blinder-toting gender binary.
Serial is Real: This short article talking about the legal repercussions of having (or not having) power in the United States due to race and notoriety just adds another voice in the argument that our justice system is broken. I was a huge fan of Serial (the NPR podcast), and listening to that tale of a case that failed to see justice for the accused (whether he did it or not) has me feeling a little down about the current state of the union.
Invisibilia Podcast: Brand new podcast that just debuted at #1 on itunes. Invisibilia’s first episode talked about our innermost thoughts, and whether or not they are representative of our nature through a few stories of people who have grappled with that issue firsthand.

 

Books: 
Women in Clothes: I’m almost finished with this MASSIVE compendium of the collected thoughts on fashion from 700+ women. If there was ever a book tailor-made to suit me, this is it. Women speak about the thoughts and mental hoops they jump through to get themselves ready in the morning, from the imprint of their mother’s style on their lives, to their own understanding of what looks good on them, to the mantras and philosophies that they dress by. Five stars (out of five) so far.

 

Content from the corners of the internet: 
^Every David Bowie Hairstyle (Dollychops.tumblr.com)
This thread (“The Beginner’s Guide to Italian Style”) on reddit’s r/femalefashionadvice had me reeling. Not only did I not like the recommendations offered by the author, I really resented her steel-minded focus on achieving “femininity.” There were many who loved the guide, but I found it insulting and demeaning–from tips like “drink more water!” (which has zilch to do with dressing like her version of a perfectly-thin Italian woman with bronzed skin and an ‘almost animal sensuousness’) to the ridiculous, stereotypical expectation she has of women, I was truly annoyed. (And in my personal experience, I have met more than one androgynous/plus-size/non-‘bronze’ Italian woman who also happens to be beautiful and proud of their status as Italian.)

 

Until next week!
Alicia
Leave a Reply

